Conference in Cyprus

On the 25th of May 2021, the Department of Nursing, Cyprus University of Technology in collaboration with the Educational Sector of the Nursing Services, Ministry of Health of Cyprus, organized a two-hour short conference in Nicosia, Cyprus, titled Nurse Managers For Safety Erasmus+ Project: Strengthening Knowledge and Competencies of Nurse Managers for a Safe Care Environment.

During the conference, the participants (nurse managers at ward, hospital and ministerial level and nurses with a specific interest on nursing and health management), had the chance to become acquainted with the objectives of the project. They were welcomed by Dr Evridiki Papastavrou, scientific supervisor of the Cyprus team and Mr Evagoras Tambouris, Acting Director of Nursing Services, Ministry of Health of Cyprus. Jessica Longhini, on behalf of the NM4SAFETY consortium, addressed the participants through a live broadcast from Italy, via zoom.

During the main part of the conference, Dr Evridiki Papastavrou, presented an overview of previous research studies in Cyprus, focusing on patient safety and missed nursing care. Dr Georgios Efstathiou, presented the NM4SAFETY project, and Mrs Maria Mashini the findings of a study contacted among nurse managers regarding their perceptions on missed nursing care and how this phenomenon can be overcome. Finally, Dr Melanie Charalambous, briefly described the modules that will be offered through an online training program for nurse managers, planned to be delivered in the near future as part of the project’s outputs. During the conference, the president of the Cyprus Patients Association, Mr Marios Kouloumas, delivered a speech on how patients perceive patient safety.

A certificate of attendance was presented to the participants, at the end of the conference.

The Cyprus team consists of Dr Evridiki Papastavrou, Dr Georgios Efstathiou, Dr Panayiota Andreou, Dr Theologia Tsitsi, Dr Melanie Charalambous and Mrs Maria Mashini. The valuable help of Mrs Maria Yiakoumi, as member of the organizing committee of the conference is acknowledged.